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Solar Power on Your Home: Getting Started 
 
 

1. Find a Solar Installer in Southern Arizona 
 

Arizona Solar Energy Industries Association 
http://www.arizonasolarindustry.org/members.html 
 
Tucson Electric Power 
http://www.greenwatts.com/Docs/ListingSolarInstallers.pdf 

 
 

2. General Installation Procedures for Solar Electric Panels  
 

• Call to schedule a site visit at your home.  An installer will work with you to assess 
your energy needs and the unique circumstances.  If you live in an area with a 
homeowner’s association (HOA), let them know about your plans.  The law says a 
HOA cannot prohibit you from installing a solar energy system or interfere with the 
full potential of energy generation.  HOAs do have the right to ask that the system be 
as unobtrusive as possible. 

 
• Sign contract with installer.  An installer will help you apply for a building permit 

from the City or County which can take from three days to several weeks to be 
approved.  You will also be required to sign an interconnection agreement from 
your local utility and apply for the solar rebate. 

 
• The installation begins, which usually takes 2-3 days.  Generally, the whole process 

will take 6 -10 weeks from the initial call to actual operation.   
 

• When the installation is finished, the City or County and the utility company will send 
inspectors to insure safety.  When both inspections are approved, the utility will 
provide the rebate which can take several weeks. Ask your installer if you can defer 
payment for the amount of your utility rebate.  When the utility sends you the check, 
you then sign it over to the installer.  This means less cash up front on your part. 

 
 

3. Tax Credits and Utility Rebates 
 



Tax credits for solar electric systems and solar hot water heaters apply to the year that the 
system actually goes into operation. 
 

• Residential  
 

i. Federal tax credits are available for 30% off the cost of the system up to 
$2,000.  When filing your taxes, use federal tax form 5695.  These tax 
credits apply to systems installed in 2006-2008 and may be used again in 
later years if more solar panels or hot water heaters are installed.  Click 
here for more information. 

 
ii.  State tax credits are available for 25% off the cost of the system up to 

$1,000.  When filing taxes, use Arizona form 310.  This credit may be used 
only once per residence.  Click here for more information. 

 
• Commercial 

 
i. Tax credits are available for 30% off the cost of the system with no cap.  

For more information, click here. 
 

• Utility Rebates 
 
An even larger percentage reduction in the cost of a solar system comes from the 
utility rebate.  Whereas the federal and state tax credits have caps, the utility rebate 
increases proportionally with the size of the system.  The Arizona Corporation 
Commission has approved rules for net metering, which means that you will be able 
to receive credit at the end of the year for any excess power that you have added to the 
grid. 
 

i. Tucson Electric Power will give you $3,000 per kilowatt and offers net 
metering. Ask your installer about rebates for solar hot water (including 
possible retroactive rebates). 

 
ii.  Trico Electric Cooperative will give you $4,000 per kilowatt of solar 

electric, up to 50% of the cost of the system. For solar hot water, Trico will 
rebate 50 cents for each kilowatt-hour saved during the first year. 

 
iii.  Sulphur Springs Valley Electric Cooperative will give you $4,000 per 

kilowatt, up to 50% of the system cost. 
 

iv. Arizona Public Service will give you $3,000 per kilowatt and offers net 
metering.  For solar hot water, APS will rebate 50 cents for each kilowatt-
hour saved during the first year, up to $10,000. 

 
 
 

 


